Rehearsal notes, practice bits and unrelated news

I’m overdue for a real post, but here’s a quick update.

#

I hosted rehearsal this week for the string section which was so much more fun than I expected. We started out on the back deck in the late evening sunshine with a view of Lake Washington and Mt. Rainier, treating the neighborhood to a warmup version of Rondeau, before cold chased us inside for a retune and some real rehearsal.

I really do enjoy getting to play with such at talented group. Tonight the violins got the lions share of our conductor’s fine tuning – ok by me as cellos got it in spades last week – but I got a lot of flack for my inability to keep a straight face. Note to self – channel your inner Anna Fritz (PCP cellist) and quit pulling faces when you screw up!

Have to say the highlight of my evening was playing the eighth note run in Quartetto in F Major (nicknamed: the seven measures of terror at last rehearsal) I have been busting my ass breaking that down all week note by note, to the point where I wake up with those seven measures running through my head. Tonight I played it straight through with no mistakes during a little pause in the rehearsal, and our bass player looked over at me with a big ‘wow’ and a grin – trouble in that spot was the cause of last weeks cello intensive – and it was all I could do not to do an inzone dance in the middle of the living room.

Practice pays off.

#

I learned something important in this week’s practice. Repetition, repetition, repetition. (Where have you heard that before?) I can now play that seven measure run of eighth notes in my sleep. Now if only I could keep a straight face.

#

Other news:

I love reading out loud, and the delightful folks at Podcastleactually lets me read some of the most wonderful stories for their weekly podcast.

This week, I had the pleasure to read the lovely and haunting “Ghosts of New York” by Jennifer Pelland. The story was originally published in the Dark Faith anthology, and has been nominated for a Nebula award. Caution: This one earns its ‘R’ rating – consider yourself warned.

Podcastle is features some of the finest fantasy short fiction available for FREE online – each episode is one story and runs about a half hour to 45 minutes in length. They’re great for listening in the car for a commute or for a mid-day break from the routine. (If you like horror or sci-fi, check out sister sites Pseudopod or Escapepod, respectively)

Also, thanks to you my wonderful readers, I’ve been invited to be a guest blogger at site I totally dig – squee! – Details to come as specifics are confirmed, but I’m looking forward to taking this show on the road.

#

Phew, that almost resembles a real post – except for the scattershot delivery and randomness of it all. Signing off!

About Eddie

Watch what happens when you give a writer a cello.
This entry was posted in Life and other such oddities, Orchestra, Practice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

