Discombobulated Enchantment (The alternate title for this blog)

Today I raced into orchestra with cello in tow at 5minutes to start only to discover I’d forgotten my music stand. At least I remembered my music.

Eh, blame it on the first day on the job. Didn’t feel like hauling the cello to work. Not knowing where I would be all day (first days are hardly ever spent at one’s desk) I opted to make a run home between work and orchestra. Of course, being a first day things ran late and I didn’t leave work till – let’s just say the time I should have been leaving home for orchestra. At home I barely had time to grab CC, tea and a couple of turkey cheese rollups (protein power!) before racing back out the door.

Insert pouring rain and rush hour and stir to produce crap traffic. I can’t wait until I get to work from home!

Our first chair (as I have already think of her, even though no formal chair assignments have been announced) was kind enough to share a music stand, and even let me use my sheet music (I’d be lost without fingerings), I tuned and took a couple of deep breaths.

Magically, discombobulation gave way to enchantment as we tuned and got underway. I feel a little less like a total n00bie every time – it was easier to follow along, and find myself when I got lost, and I’m proud to say all that pizz practice with Ferdie and Miranda has payed off – I was able to play at speed without missing more than a note or two.

We also ran through Pavane by Gabriel Faure, which is absolutely lovely if you haven’t heard it and I bungled my way through Brandenburg like a drunk, three legged cat. My most humbling moment of the night was when two others started hearing something off in the low F during Gymnopedies. I looked around at the other cellists with a confident shrug (not moi) and we took turns playing the low F to have every one in the room light up “that’s it!” on my turn. My low F was flatter than…ug, too tired for flat analogy…it was flat. Swallowing my pride, and a little embarrassed that I still can’t always HEAR myself, I found the proper note and we redid the section of Gymnopedies that requires something like 8 full measure low F notes (ha, no wonder) and the whole piece sounded much better.

It was a good reminder that everyone has to pull their own weight – being just a little off can affect others in the group.

I’m a little sad when our two hours together is up for the week, but there’s talk of a summer band camp and some possibly more ensemble pieces (we need more violas, however) so even after the last formal concert of the season, I know there will be more music to be made together. For now, it’s nice knowing that orchestra is my very own personal:

found on flickr, courtesy of Celia

Now, to collapse into an exhausted heap in my at home recombobulation station (aka bed)

Goodnight, all!

About Eddie

Watch what happens when you give a writer a cello.
This entry was posted in Life and other such oddities, Orchestra and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

