Warming it up: What’s your favorite song?

I’ve previously compared this song to that first downward facing dog in a Vinyasa series. I think a good warm-up song is serves the same purpose: it a deceptively simple, often repetitive exercise that provides an opportunity to see/feel/hear exactly where the practice is at that moment in time. It provides a kind of “snap-shot” of what’s working and what needs work.

At times, I’ve warmed up with scales, but the more I play Scarborough Fair for the first couple of minutes the more I feel guided into whatever practice goal I have that day.

What’s your warmup tune or strategy? How do you set your practice goal for the day?

About Eddie

Watch what happens when you give a writer a cello.
This entry was posted in Practice, What I've Learned and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

