You have strings, come play with us!

Such went the invite.

The story: TBF and I were attending his work holiday party. I was meeting a delightful group of international smartheads and chatting about all number of things (motorcycles, travel, kids, dogs, etc) when I made one of those instant “string” connections with one of his coworkers who happens to play the upright bass. Turns out she was in a community orchestra which was totally bereft of cellists. (Srsly. I know, I gasped too. How is such a thing possible?)

Was I interested in coming to play with a bunch of friendly, undemanding community musicians?

I took the invite as one of those casual party conversations – surely she couldn’t mean MOI? – and proceeded to go about the holiday travel and subsequent parental unit caretaking business without a thought to the possibility that I might be bringing my cello to the masses. Then two weeks ago I got an email from said bass player (Thanks, TBF for playing ‘Operator’ on this one) with a reminder that the community orchestra meets on Tuesdays. Would I still be interested in playing with a group of lovely, friendly, not at all intimidating musicians?

How could I say no? What better motivation to regain my lost cello slippage than joining a group of friendly, novice-welcoming musicians in a community orchestra. (Yes, I also passed the invite on to Kaia’s other cello students – some of whom are undoubtedly far better prepared to play in company than lil ole me)

Now here I am: diligently cycling through scales; reacquainting my ear with the concept of tone; and breaking down my last two Suzuki pieces (Rigadoon and Andantino) into tiny, tiny, pieces of note-to-note-connection-creating-melody like my life depends on it.

And maybe, in a small, totally unrealistic way, it does.

On Thursday (bumped from Tuesday) I go meet said community orchestra and see if maybe I’m a decent enough cellist to get a spot in the lineup. Like the overachiever I am, they might as well be the Seattle Symphony inviting me to audition –in Benaroya Hall.

Yes. I am freaking out.

Time to get back to practice.

Repeat: I. Am. Freaking. Out.

That is all.

About Eddie

Watch what happens when you give a writer a cello.
This entry was posted in High Strung, Practice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You have strings, come play with us!

  1. That’s fabulous! Have lots of fun!

  2. The Neophyte Cellist says:

    You’re going to have a ball!

  3. Eddie says:

    Thanks for the words of encouragement. Playing with others is on my second year goal list, I just didn’t think the opportunity would come so soon.

    Right now, I’m just trying not to hurl when I think of playing in front of strangers.

Leave a Reply

