I have not been avoiding you…

You would not believe how many pictures of boobies came up when I searched "distraction"

I Promise.

I know you don’t come here for cello related stuff, cool videos or cellos in the news (or maybe you do, how cool would that be) You come here because I promised the story of a grown-up learning to play an instrument that most smart people start playing before they’re old enough to be afraid of failing.

Ha.

One of the ways it sucks being a grown-up beginner is that you are sometimes called upon to do grown up stuff (like look for a job or take care of a parent) that -hopefully – and 8 year old virtuoso would never have to do. Anyway the long and the short of it is thus – by way of explanation, not apology – a short couple of weeks on and off again (holiday travel, weddings not mine, etc…) turned into a long couple of months in which I was physically separated from CC much of the time. I had to put my lessons on hold and my practice in the freezer in a heavy duty ziploc bag. WTF, FML, etc, ad nauseum, ad infinitum…

I was hoping to keep you entertained/distracted/amused enough not to wonder where the hell my practice updates had gone until, well, I was ready to pick up my cello again and rejoin the orchestra.

Now, here I am.

This week, I tuned Cecelia after six weeks of letting it all hang out. The good news is, I can still tune, and I remember what “in tune” sounds like enough to know that I still hate the sound of my tuned A. The bad news is that even that nasal, whiny little biatch sounds dull and as my new cello-blog friend Les puts it “flubby.” Oh yeah, according to Kaia at my last lesson it was time for new strings. I guess two months off doesn’t change that. Good thing I got that gift card for Christmas. I’m a fan of Jargars on the A and D but not super happy with the G&C Jargs. Any recommendations on something that sounds a little less…i dunno…chipper?

I also worked through scales up to F major, and man are my left fingertips happy. Insert sarcasm font here.

And because I am, if nothing else, a glutton for punishment, I ran through Scarborough Fair. As of the end of the year, it had pretty much become my stand by warm up piece: a good way to gauge what the heck was up for the day (kinda like that first downward dog in a vinyasa class) before deciding on a practice goal.

Oh. My. Dear. Baby. Jebus.

It almost brought me to tears. It was slow, halting, painful. I’ve lost all the nuance I had developed. I poured myself a glass of wine. Drank said glass of wine and went right back to it.*

TBF came home and eyed the empty cello case, full music stand, and tightened bow. “You’re back.”

Damn right I am.

*P.S. I am in no way advocating CUI (Celling Under the Influence) but on certain occasions (like when it’s “drink a glass of wine or throw your cello out the window” time) I’d say there’s a certain medicinal quality that comes into play.

About Eddie

Watch what happens when you give a writer a cello.
This entry was posted in Practice, What I've Learned and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I have not been avoiding you…

  1. We’ve all been through the need to CUI, even when we haven’t taken long breaks away from the cello. The good news is that it will get better from here, especially after you get new strings. I look forward to reading your updates!

    • Eddie says:

      Yeah, I’ll admit to CUI for lesser circumstances, but it’s not my recomended practice strategy. Congrats on your first year! I’m so looking forward to reading more of your progress in year two 🙂

  2. Michael says:

    It was fun to read your blog. Isn’t it so unfair though – the 8 year old doesn’t usually become a prodigy because he feels he has all the time in the world!

    Practices yesterday, practices tomorrow, but never practices today!

  3. Cellophyte says:

    I may have to try CUI . . . although that my be more depressing if it improves my playing.

    • Eddie says:

      Okay, now, y’all. I don’t want bunch of cello teachers coming to my blog ‘thanking’ me for inebriated students, so take it easy on the CUIng – at least on lesson days 😉

      Welcome, cellophyte!

Leave a Reply

