Taking a break: National Novel Writing Month cometh

Hi there! Sorry for dropping of the blog-planet. I had a very good lesson on Monday, in spite of the fact that Schroeder is giving me a run for my sanity.

Tonight I got a little crazy and decided to do a little cello jam session. I’ve been watching TBF with envy as he sits down in front of the stereo and strums along and I decided that with an empty house and a well stocked stereo of tunes tonight was my turn.

I focused on slower songs, trying to identify the key and then a couple of notes I could play in series sort of like a second bass line. I had my best results with Tori Amos’ “Jamaica Inn” and “Modern Romance” by the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. Though I did have to listen to each song about three or four times to get to the point I felt like I really liked how it sounded when i played along. Not a bad way to blow an hour of practice it was actually a lot of fun. The hardest part was staying away from the melody line and just going with complementary background notes.

Then I went back to Schroeder with much more enthusiasm. This week I have #15, again since the third line continues to confound me, and for variety’s sake I’ve started playing with #17. It’s very similar with the six note slur, but it has that up-down-up-down rhythm that I really enjoy. Then I remembered I haven’t blogged in ages so here I am.

Come to think of it, I will probably be scarce around these parts for the next month due to the annual National Novel Writing Month (or NaNoWriMo, as it’s affectionately known) but I will be continuing my practice schedule with updates as often as I can spare the time to give them. Be well!

About Eddie

Watch what happens when you give a writer a cello.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

