Mixing strings?

Over the holidays I treated myself to a string upgrade of my A & D strings from the basic strings that came with my beginner package to Jargar (chrome, medium) and I really noticed and liked the new sound. In case you were curious about a string upgrade that may involve “mixing strings” I thought I’d share an article on the subject I found interesting.

Mixing Strings Can Offer the Right Balance
for You and Your Instrument

Violinists and violists sometimes use strings sets, but “there seems to be no actual “set” of strings that works on the cello,” says Todd French, president of StringWorks and cellist with Los Angeles Opera. “The acoustics for cello lend themselves to much more alteration in construction.” more

About Eddie

Watch what happens when you give a writer a cello.
This entry was posted in What I've Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

