Breakthrough!

Tonight, while I was practicing the French Folk Song, O started humming a familar nursery rhyme from the kitchen. As usual, I heard lyrics first in German, then French (did I mention my awe and  faux-jealousy that O happens to be at least trilingual?). We laughed a little as the song got stuck in both of our heads at once and he went back to work, but I couldn’t get the song unstuck.

A simple nursey rhyme; it was just a couple of notes strung together and repeated. I started picking at the D string. A few minutes later, I hear a voice come out of the kitchen.

“Is that what I think it is?”

I happily plucked on. In under five minutes I worked out the song entirely. O looked up from his monitor at me.

“You have that in your Suzuki book?”

“Nope,” I said merrily.

It took me a minute to realize what I had just done. I played it again. We hummed along. I sorted through the last measure a time or two until I had it just right. I grinned. I played it all the way through again. Start to finish. The notes came easily because I wasn’t looking at sheet music. I knew the notes by heart. Literally.

“I just taught myself a song,” I said finally. I kissed Cecelia.

There it is: my first cello breakthrough. I figured out how to play a song by ear.

The lyrics go something like this:

Frère Jacques, frère Jacques,
Dormez-vous? Dormez-vous?
Sonnez les matines! Sonnez les matines!
Ding, dang, dong. Ding, dang, dong.”

It’s not Bach, but I thought it was pretty damn cool, nonetheless.

🙂

About Eddie

Watch what happens when you give a writer a cello.
This entry was posted in Practice and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

